more from
80/20 Records
We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Spirals and Portals (EP)

by Lobate Scarp

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Included in your Spirals and Portals purchase from Bandcamp, are FOUR bonus tracks- "And We Tried (Instrumental)", "Beautiful Light (Instrumental)", and "Beautiful Light (12-String Guitar Track)" arranged and performed by Rich Mouser and *** "Nothing Wrong (Instrumental)". Also included is a special downloadable JPG credit sheet featuring more art by David A. Hardy ( *** Digital download only track
    Purchasable with gift card

      $3 USD  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    NEW! 'Spirals and Portals' which was released in September 2019 now comes in compact disc form! This is a nice simple 2-sided sleeve with front and back artwork by world renowned space artist David A. Hardy- ( Songs plus all the bonus tracks (listed below) total to 44 minutes in length.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Spirals and Portals (EP) via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days

      $5 USD or more 


And We Tried 07:31


Songs and Lyrics by Adam Sears

Woodwinds and Strings Arrangement on "Beautiful Light" by Steven Leavitt

12-string acoustic guitar arrangement on "Beautiful Light" by Rich Mouser

Adam Sears- lead vocals, synths, piano, and organs.
Andy Catt- bass (and vocals on track 3)
Mike Gerbrandt- drums
Andrea Whitt- viola (and pedal steel guitar on track 3)
Hoyt Binder- electric guitar (tracks 1, 2)
Rich Mouser- dilruba (1), additional guitar (2), 12-string acoustic guitar, mandolin, shaker (3), additional vocals (1,3)
Rachel Grace- violin (1,3)
Danica Pinner- cello (2)
Nate "The Fish" Olmos- electric 12-string and 6-string electric guitars, vocals (3)
Charlie Adelphia- oboe, English horn, flute, clarinet (3)
Steve Leavitt- additional piano and vocals (1,3) harmonium, reverse snares (1), B3 organ (2), and Moog, synth programming, maracas, tambourine, glockenspiel, (3)
Robyn Kirmssé- background vocals (2)
Sharlotte Gibson, Kaylene Peoples, Kaitlin Obien- backup singers (3)
Nat Magnuson, Arend Anton, Andy Catt, Steven Leavitt, Adam Sears- group vocals (3)

"Nothing Wrong" and "And We Tried" engineered by Steven Leavitt at I Create Sound and additional engineering by Rich Mouser at The Mouse House.

"Nothing Wrong" produced by Steven Leavitt and co-produced by Rich Mouser

"And We Tried" produced by Steven Leavitt and additional production by Rich Mouser

"Beautiful Light" engineered by Rich Mouser at The Mouse House
Produced by Rich Mouser and Steven Leavitt

All tracks mixed by Rich Mouser at The Mouse House, Altadena, California
and Mastered by Ron Leeper at Sound Affair Mastering

Cover art and original logo designed by David A. Hardy-
Revised logo by Emma Lemcke -

© 2019 Lobate Scarp


released September 10, 2019

Thank you to the following backers for help creating "Nothing Wrong" and "And We Tried":

Skot Fuchs
Andrew Griffin
Kim Henderson
Stefan Pietsch
Jean-Luc Putaux
Mason Rourman
Kelly Russo
Bill and Mary Ann Sears
Joel Sears
Judy and Steve Sears
Diane Stroud
Wolfram Wiessbrodt

Special thanks to backer Thomas Wunram.


all rights reserved



Lobate Scarp Los Angeles, California

Lobate Scarp's twist on Progressive Rock music will take you on a unique musical journey. Their music has given delight to fans of Yes, Rush, Queen, 80’s pop, and musical theater alike.

“Highly recommended for fans of symphonic prog”- Jerry Lucky,
Prog Rock Files

“Absolutely brilliant stuff!”- Kevin Mulryne, Yes Music Podcast

See us live:
... more


contact / help

Contact Lobate Scarp

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Lobate Scarp recommends:

If you like Lobate Scarp, you may also like: